Title Banner Metropolis Title Banner Calendar Title Banner Orthodox Life Title Banner Parishes Title Banner Links Title Banner
Title Banner
Friday, 20 January 2017
Coming Feasts
Wed, 25 January '17

St Gregory of Nazianzen, the Theologian

Fri, 27 January '17

The Translation of the Relics of St John Chrysostom

Mon, 30 January '17

The Three Hierarchs: St Basil the Great, St Gregory the Theologian and St John Chrysostom

Feast of our Lady
Thu, 2 February '17

The Encounter of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ

Fri, 24 February '17

The First and Second Discovery of the honourable Head of the Forerunner, St John the Baptist


St Euthymius the Great

O God, Thou art my helper; Thy mercy shall go before me.
Verse: Rescue me from mine enemies, O God, and from them that rise up against me redeem me.

Wisdom from the Holy Fathers
A respected monk from New Skete would say to me: "On every feast day of Pascha when we we say 'Christ is risen,' we commemorate the angel's proclamation in front of the empty tomb of Christ. Those who leave the church immediately after 'Christ is risen' is sung are not Christians. The ones who remain to celebrate the Divine Liturgy are the Christians."
On Discernment of Thought

For those interested in the Orthodox Church and Faith please feel free to contact a Church representative near you for further information or contact Fr Ian (see Contacts for details).

Paschal Feasts
Sun, 5 February

Publican and Pharisee

Mon, 27 February

Clean Monday

Sun, 9 April

Palm Sunday

Fri, 14 April

Holy Friday

Sat, 15 April

Holy Saturday

Sun, 16 April

Pascha

Sun, 23 April

Thomas Sunday

Thu, 25 May

Ascension

Sun, 4 June

Pentecost


Latest News

Service(s) for Friday
St Euthymius the Great
Fechin (Vigean), Abbot of Fobhar, Ireland. Molagga, Abbot of Fermoy, Ireland. New-Martyr Zachariah of Morea. Venerable Eutymios the Great.

Service(s) for Saturday
Brigid, Virgin of Kilbride. Laudog, Confessor of Wales. Venerable Maxim the Greek. Venerable Maximos the Confessor, Zosimos and Neophytos. Vimin, Bishop in Scotland, Founder of Holywood Monastery. Virgin-Martyr Agnes of Rome.

To the Glory of God, this is a private Orthodox website for New Zealand. It does not officially represent any jurisdcition here.


Any errors on the site are the sole responsibility of the web-site designer.

Icons, Psalms, readings and hymns courtesy of Holy Transfiguration Monastery, Theologic Systems and Metropolitan Joseph Harkiolakis.

Wisdom of the Fathers is from An Athonite Gerontikon: Sayings of the Holy Fathers of Mount Athos and The Philokalia
Scripture Verses from KJV and EMTV

© 2004-2017.